There are loads of utterly delicious, gluten-free alternatives to wheat! If you’re looking for an alternative to couscous, something instead of pasta or noodles, or an some ingredients for your cereal, here are some great ideas. Experiment with different types and see which ones you like - you may prefer the more nutty, flavoured ones, or the ones with a fuller flavour. Now's the time to experiment!
Simply click on any of the ingredient below which interest you to find out more information. You'll be able to print them out, send to a friend or store in your recipe folder. And you can also click onto related recipes or related ingredients to find out more about those, too.
A superfood, packed with minerals and all eight amino acids, amaranth is available as a grain.barley
Barley contains a small amount of gluten, but is often a good alternative for those sensitive to wheat, rather than gluten. buckwheat
Not to be confused with wheat – buckwheat comes from a different food family, from the seeds of a herb. corn/maize
Also known as polenta, this is a fantastic ingredient for side dishes, especially if served with chicken or fish. kamut
Kamut contains some gluten, so don’t eat this if you’re sensitive to gluten.millet
Millet is widely available and what’s more, it's a superfood.oats
Oats are widely available and also a great high-fibre, antioxidant-packed, low-GI ingredient.potatoes
As well as potatoes, you’ll find that sweet potatoes, yams, eddoes and dasheen are becoming widely available.quinoa
Another fantastic superfood, quinoa contains all eight essential amino acids as well as high quantities of calcium and iron. rice
There is a fantastic selection of different types of rice available, as well as different forms.rye
Rye contains gluten, so don’t use this if you’re gluten-sensitive. spelt wheat
A non-hybridized version of wheat which is sometimes tolerated by wheat-sensitive people. tapioca
Derived from the cassava root, you can buy tapioca as ‘pearls’ and flakes.