Mirin is a staple ingredient for Japanese cooking, made from sweet rice which has been matured. Great for making sushi rice, and for stir-fries, teriyaki marinades, as well as dressings and soups.
Agar agar is made from a seaweed in Japan and is an excellent vegetarian alternative to gelatine. baking powder
Gluten-free baking powders are widely available. bicarbonate of soda
Use this as a raising agent when you’re looking for a gentler version to baking powder.egg-replacer
There are various products available to replace eggs in certain recipes.fish sauce
This is a classic base ingredient for most Thai recipes, including curries and stir-fries.gelatine
Vegetarian gelatines are widely available and they're gluten-, wheat- and dairy-free. guar gum
Although classed as an E number (E412), guar gum is a natural product. mirin
Mirin is a staple ingredient for Japanese cooking.miso
You can use miso instead of salt to add flavour to stews, soups and sauces.shrimp paste
This might be a little hard to find but it’s well worth the trek.stock powder
It’s easy to find gluten-, wheat-, yeast- and dairy-free stock powder.tamari soy sauce
This is a wonderful alternative to ordinary soy sauce, as it is gluten-free and wheat-free.xanthum gum
Use this for baking cakes, cookies, biscuits, pastry and bread to make them less crumbly and far less likely to fall apart.